## **PUBLIC STATEMENT**

## **2012 PLENARY MEETING**

## OF

## THE WASSENAAR ARRANGEMENT ON EXPORT CONTROLS FOR CONVENTIONAL ARMS AND DUAL-USE GOODS AND TECHNOLOGIES

The eighteenth Plenary meeting of the Wassenaar Arrangement<sup>1</sup>, chaired by Ambassador Konrad Max Scharinger of the Federal Republic of Germany, was held in Vienna on 11 to 12 December 2012.

Following the review and evaluation of the overall functioning of the Arrangement which took place in 2011, the Arrangement has continued to keep pace with advances in technology and market trends. It has continued its efforts to contribute to international and regional security and stability by promoting transparency and greater responsibility in the transfer of conventional arms and dual-use goods and technologies, thus preventing destabilizing accumulations. Participating States have agreed to make further use of the Regional Views exercise, implementing a rotating focus on geographic regions. They have also agreed to conduct further work on addressing new challenges, including emerging technologies of concern.

Participating States have continued to work actively to make the existing control lists more readily understood and user-friendly for licensing authorities and exporters, and to ensure the detection and denial of undesirable exports. Export controls were strengthened in a number of areas including spacecraft and passive counter-surveillance equipment of mobile telecommunications. In addition certain relaxations were introduced for gas turbine engines and machine tools, and the cryptography note was revised. Participating States have also decided to conduct a comprehensive and systematic review of the Wassenaar Lists to ensure their continued relevance.

Significant efforts have also been undertaken to promote the Arrangement and to encourage voluntary adherence to the Arrangement's standards by non-Participating States.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Wassenaar Arrangement on Export Controls for Conventional Arms and Dual-Use Goods and Technologies was established on the basis of the Initial Elements adopted in July 1996 (see website:www.wassenaar.org). Meetings are normally held in Vienna, Austria, where the Arrangement is based. Currently the Participating States of the Wassenaar Arrangement are: Argentina, Austrialia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, Romania, the Russian Federation, Slovenia, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

The Wassenaar Arrangement continues to undertake outreach in support of its aims and objectives, in particular through post-Plenary briefings, interaction with industry and bilateral dialogue with non-Participating States. The Plenary decided to continue to offer a technical briefing on recent changes to the Wassenaar Arrangement control lists to a number of non-Participating States in 2013.

The Plenary welcomed Mexico as its 41st Participating State and reiterated that the Wassenaar Arrangement is open for membership to all states in compliance with the agreed criteria.

The Plenary thanked the Chair, Ambassador Konrad Max Scharinger (Germany) for his valuable contribution to the work of the Arrangement. The Plenary also thanked Ambassador Przemyslaw Grudzinski (Poland) for his Chairmanship of the General Working Group, Mr. Toshiki Wani (Japan) for his leadership of the Experts Group, Mr. Klaas Leenman (Netherlands) for his leadership of the Licensing and Enforcement Officers' Meeting (LEOM) and Mr. Tim Coyle (Australia) for chairing the ad hoc Group of Security and Intelligence Experts over the last year. The Plenary also expressed its appreciation and gratitude to Ambassador Philip Griffiths (New Zealand) as Head of the Wassenaar Arrangement Secretariat and his staff for their ongoing support.

The next regular Wassenaar Arrangement Plenary meeting will take place in Vienna in December 2013. Denmark will assume the Chair of the Plenary from 1 January 2013, and has designated Ambassador Torben Brylle, its Permanent Representative to the International Organisations in Vienna, as the Plenary Chair. In addition, from 1 January 2013, Portugal will assume the Chairmanship of the General Working Group, the Republic of Korea will chair the Experts' Group and the United States will chair the LEOM.

Vienna, 12 December 2012