Board of Directors

Spread the love

The Board of Directors oversee and direct the business and affairs of Pacific Forum. A list of current members can be found below.


  • James A. Kelly, President Emeritus, Pacific Forum; former Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs (Honolulu)


  • Brenda Lei Foster, former President, American Chamber of Commerce in Shanghai (Houston, TX)


  • Steven Xavier Chan, Global Head of Government Relations and Public Policy, Prudential plc (Singapore)
  • Ralph A. Cossa, President Emeritus and WSD-Handa Chair in Peace Studies, Pacific Forum (Honolulu)
  • Robert P. Girrier, Rear Admiral, USN (Ret.); President Emeritus, Pacific Forum (Maryland)
  • Warren K. K. Luke, Chairman & CEO, Hawaii National Bank (Honolulu)
  • Lauren Kahea Moriarty, Principal, Aloha Visions; former US Ambassador to Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) (Honolulu)
  • David L. Mulliken, Partner and Of Counsel (retired), Latham & Watkins LLP; Member, US Supreme Court Bar; International Arbitrator (Honolulu)
  • Torkel Patterson, Vice Chairman, International High Speed Rail Association; Director, Central Japan Railway Company (Tokyo)
  • Jean E. Rolles, Community Volunteer; Vice President (retired), Community Relations, Outrigger Enterprises, Inc. (Honolulu)
  • Charles B. Salmon, Jr., Adjunct Senior Fellow, Office of the President, East-West Center; former US Ambassador to Laos (Honolulu)
  • David Santoro, President, Pacific Forum (Honolulu)
  • Eric Sayers, Managing Director, Beacon Global Strategies (Washington, DC)
  • Gerald Sumida, Partner, Carlsmith Ball LLP (Honolulu)
  • Barbara Tanabe, Partner, Ho’akea Communications (Honolulu)

International Advisory Board


  • Richard L. Armitage, President, Armitage International; former US Deputy Secretary of State (Washington, DC)
  • Joseph S. Nye, Jr., Distinguished Service Professor, John F. Kennedy School of Government; former Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Affairs (Boston, MA)


  • Mary G. F. Bitterman, President, The Bernard Osher Foundation; former President, James Irvine Foundation (Honolulu and San Francisco)
  • Brunhilde K. “Bruni” Bradley, Commander, USN (Ret.); Board Vice-Chairman, Military Child Education Coalition; Board Member, Center for Tomorrow’s Leaders Hawaii (Honolulu)
  • Karl W. Eikenberry, LTG, USA (Ret.); Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center, Stanford University; former US Ambassador to Afghanistan (Stanford, CA)
  • Haruhisa Handa, Chairman, Worldwide Support for Development (Tokyo)
  • Spencer Kim, Chairman, CBOL Corporation; former Chairman, Pioneer Aluminum (Chatsworth, CA)
  • Karen Knudsen, Senior Adjunct Fellow, East-West Center (Honolulu)
  • Charles D. Lake, II, President, Aflac International Inc.; Chairman and Representative in Japan, Aflac Japan (Tokyo)
  • Hon Sir Jim McLay, KNZM QSO, former Deputy Prime Minister of New Zealand and New Zealand’s Consul General in Honolulu (Honolulu)
  • Yoshihiko Miyauchi, Chairman and CEO, ORIX Corporation (Tokyo)
  • R.T. Peng, President, Taiwan Transportation Machinery Corp. (Taipei)
  • Rex C.A. Reyes, Chairman and CEO, Galaxy Group (Manila)
  • James J. Shinn, former Assistant Secretary of Defense for East Asia (Princeton, NJ)
  • Kazuyoshi Umemoto, President, Japan Foundation (Tokyo)
  • Sarasin Viraphol, Executive Vice President, Charoen Pokphand Group; former Thai Ambassador to the Philippines; former Director-General, Thai Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Bangkok)
  • Jusuf Wanandi, Chairman, Supervisory Board, Centre for Strategic and International Studies (Jakarta)

In Memoriam
Board Chairman Emeritus Brent Scowcroft

Board Member Ronald “Zap” Zlatoper

Advisory Vice-Chairman Thomas B. Hayward

Advisory Member Ronald J. Hays

Advisory Member Robert M. “Skipp” Orr