Skip to content

PacNet #8 – The Proliferation Security Initiative in ASEAN: A Glass Half Full or Half Empty?

January 28, 2013

On Nov. 18, 2012, during US President Barack Obama’s visit to Thailand, Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra announced that her country would join the Proliferation Security Initiative (PSI). Thailand is the fifth of the 10 members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) to join the PSI, after Singapore (2004), the Philippines (2005), Brunei Darussalam (2008), and Cambodia (2008); the non-participating countries are Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Laos, and Vietnam.