pacific forum History of Pacific Forum

PacNet #65 – A Farewell to Grandiosity? Practical Cooperation and the ADMM-Plus

The ASEAN Defence Ministers Meeting-Plus (ADMM-Plus), which includes the ten ASEAN countries along with Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, Russia, and the United States, will meet this year in Bandar Seri Begawan on August 29. Formed in 2010, the gathering in the Bruneian capital will only be the second time the ADMM-Plus ministers have convened, although the grouping has agreed from henceforth to meet on a biennial rather than triennial basis.